January 27, 2014 – Que lo muerda, Rarbbit! And ¨soy PILAS! Soy de la COSTA.¨

Querida Familia,

Everything is super great! I think we´re all walking on cloud nine, en serio, to see Kevin finally enter into the waters of baptism on Saturday and receive the Holy Ghost on Sunday was incredible. He has been listening to the missionaries and going to church for like a year and a half. Seriously after he was baptized his face was all lit up with joy, he was smiling brighter than I´ve ever seen. And some of his family was there, including his abuela por parte de su mama, who is a member of the church, and she was crying and just kept saying ¨thank you, thank you for my grandson.¨ You can see her in the picture there, next to Kevin, just look at her face, I don´t think I´ve ever seen anything that touching.

These are the moments that make everything worthwhile. To have the opportunity to be an instrument in God´s hands, to help people change their lives and develop faith in Jesus Christ…. There is nothing better than this. It is the most humbling thing I´ve ever experienced, to witness how much happier people are when they accept the gospel and make covenants with God.

Besides that, another cool thing that happened is that yesterday we were visiting a family where the dad is a worker in the temple (he´s the one who paints) and he gave us a piece of the baptistry mural painting in the Xela temple. How cool is that?! Also he met Uncle Charley and Aunt Winifred when they came down to install the curtains 2 years ago. He said he remembered them because they were super pilas (or…like. Hardworking.). Way to go tíos!

Sometimes I remember how weird this must seem to the outside world, that I´m here in Guatemala as a missionary, spending all my time talking about God. But let me tell you all right now that this is the happiest I´ve ever been, this is the most joy I have ever felt. I believe with all my heart that this is the truth. God is our loving Heavenly Father, who watches over us and wants to bless us continually. Jesus Christ is His Son, the Jehova of the Old Testament, the creator of this world. They live! And one day I hope to live with them and be like them.

Love,

Hermana StephensImageImageImageImageImage
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

